I don’t want to talk about dyspraxia too much because I feel like I have a problem whereby I always need to explain my self and it doesn’t help it makes you feel worse in someways. However I wanted to share the sound cloud that I found really great pod cast where young people share their experiences.

 

I wanted to share my input as an adult recently diagnosed.  As a youngster I really enjoyed the education but work was a different story. I am the classic been to so many different jobs and tried so many different things. I have been sacked or just left jobs. I’ve been told I was too slow, most of the time. I struggle doing simple jobs like waitressing as I mix up orders, or messing up setting up tables, or problems with making beds.The only job I could kind of do well was call centre but it was the continued taking phone calls that made me tired and my performance was always up and down.

 

But, there are other avenues which I am going to explore and I’m not giving up until I find the right one. Because, I want a job, one I’m really good at, one where I actually make a real difference. I love working I just can’t do it most of the time, and get stressed by judgements of others. I’m  hoping that getting a degree will lead me to jobs that makes use of my problem solving skills and less need of practical skills.

One positive things which I heard mentioned is how stubborn people with dyspraxia  are. That’s true and if I had one things to add it would be to never give up. Learning disorders are different to say a physical disorder: Ie someone who is paralysed may never be able to walk. However a person with a learning disorder that includes motor skills will always be able to do whatever they are trying, no matter what they tell you. It just takes allot of time, practise and patience. Of course there are some things that are just so hard, for me I would love to draw and I know that is a very hard thing for me to do, but the dream is one day I will do it.  I think the biggest  trouble is that people only see how  normal brains behave. This means someone with dyspraxia also has the added pressure of trying to meet  social norms and that can lead to low levels of self esteem and depression.
I think things are changing, like they say on the podcast that social media means we can meet other people like us, who understand all the challenges we face day to day and some face more challenges then others. Again, against all diversity don’t give up, keep going.  Ever more its important for someone with dyspraxia to really know what they are passionate about. Furthermore its important to know that some companies are not worth working for, whilst others are. Some companies have patient staff and access to training. Do not be disheartened if you go to a job and the manager is mean, its the managers problem not yours that’s just poor management skills.

Overall if I can say anything its the spirit of the team, and a company that values staff where I have been able to grow the most.  To know what how a company is you need to find out as best you can in the interview. The greatest thing I ever learned was that when I am in an interview it works both ways – I need to sell myself and the company and management need to sell themselves. If the interviewer seems like someone who I don’t click with I’m wary of taking the job.
Its a struggle for sure, but with the right people and the right attitude along with a thick skin anything is possible.

 

Enjoy the pod cast that I found, I hope it helps.

 

